Jnanpith Award 2021: Nilmani Phookan, Damodar Mauzo bag high literary honour: Full record of Jnanpith Awardees

Jnanpith Award winner 2021: Eminent Assamese Poet Nilmani Phookan Jr. has gained the 56th Jnanpith Award whereas the 57th Jnanpith Award has gone to the Konkani novelist Damodar Mauzo. Jnanpith Awards, India’s highest literary honour is bestowed on the writers for his or her excellent contribution to the Literature.

56th Jnanpith Award is introduced for 2020 and the 57th Jnanpith Award is introduced for the yr 2021. Each Phookan and Mauzo are the winners of the Sahitya Akademi Award and are identified for his or her vital contribution to the respective regional literature. Damodar Mauzo relies out of Majorda, Goa and Nilmani Phookan is from Guwahati, Assam.

Winner of 56th Jnanpith Award- Assamese Poet Nilmani Phookan

Assamese Poet Nilmani Phookna has acquired the best literary honour ‘Jnanpith Award’. He has been honoured for his lifelong devotion to literature.

It’s also for the third time that Assam has acquired Jnanpith Award. Earlier than Nilmani Phookan, Birendra Kumar Bhattacharya in 1979 and Mamoni Raisom Goswami in 2000 have been additionally awarded the literary honour.

Well-known works of Jnanpith Awardee Nilmani Phookan

Padma Shri Awardee Nilmani Phookan is a poet of renown and is thought for his works-


Gulapi Jamur Lagna

Surya Henu Nami Ahe Ei Nodiyedi


Phuli Thaka Suryamukhi Phultor Phale

Awards & Recognition




Gyanpeeth Award for Lifetime Contribution in Literature


Sahitya Akademi Award in Assamese


President of Assam Sahitya Sabha

Konkani Author Damodar Mauzo- Winner of 57th Jnanpith Award

Damodar Mauzo, a 77 years outdated Konkani author has been awarded the 57th Jnanpith Award. Mauzo is thought for his novels akin to Tsunami Simon and Karmelin and the quick tales together with Different Tales from Goa and Teresa’s Man.

The books written by Jnanpith Award winner Damodar Mauzo have additionally been translated into varied Indian languages. Whereas commenting on the information of receiving the Jnanpith Award, Mauzo mentioned that he was elevated whereas receiving the honour but in addition realized that there are lots of writers of the identical calibre and higher than who deserved the best literary honour.

That is additionally the second time {that a} Konkani author gained Jnanpith Award. The primary one was awarded in 2006 to Ravinder Kelelar.

Well-known works of Damodar Mauzo

Brief Fiction


Kids’s Books


Gathon (1971)

Sood (1975)

Ek Ashillo Babulo (1976)

Oshe Godle Shenoy Goembaab (2003)

Zagranna (1975)

Karmelin (1981)

Kani Eka Khomsachi (1977)

Unch Haves Unch Mathem (2003)

Rumad Ful (1989)

Tsunami Simon (2009)

Chittarangi (1995)

A Documentary movie titled ‘Bhai Mauzo’ (2014)

Bhurgim Mhugelim Tim (2001)




Sapan Mogi (2014)




Jnanpith Award

The well-known Jnanpith Award is the oldest and highest literary award. It’s honoured yearly by Bharatiya Jnanpith to an creator for his or her excellent contribution to the literature. Jnanpith Award was instituted in 1961 and is bestowed solely on the Indian writers who write within the Indian languages which might be included within the eighth schedule of the Structure of India and English. 

Full Checklist of winners of Jnanpith Award

Supply hyperlink

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Scroll to Top